I was first introduced to the works of the late great Douglas Adams when I was in Std 7 (Grade 9). It was on our weekly family trip to the local library one Thursday evening. Walking through the quiet aisles that evening, with my quota of books that I would read that week safely tucked under one arm, I was killing time until my sisters had finished their hoard.
 
I knew the aisles pretty well already. I’d seen all those books before – week after week, neatly packed away on the shelves. And then I saw ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.’ I’d seen it many times before, but I’d never picked it up. The title was a bit odd. Some futuristic book with someone travelling through space, I thought. Not exactly what I was into at that time. But because I had time, I picked it up and read the cover.
 
A trilogy in four parts. Even odder than the title. I was intrigued.
 
One Thursday lunchtime the Earth is unexpectedly demolished to make way for a new hyperspace bypass.” 

That was the clincher!
 
I quickly put back one of my already carefully chosen books and grabbed this one. And I am glad to say that the rest is history. 
  
This was the first book I had ever read where I actually had to set it down next to me just so that I could have a good laugh before carrying on again. I loved the language and the way he described things and his flow of thought. It was bizarre! It was genius!
 
One of my absolute favourite lines which I remember to this day is: “The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks
don’t.”
 
Needless to say, the next Thursday I reluctantly returned ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’, and took out ‘The Restaurant at the End of
the Universe’, ‘Life, the Universe and Everything’ & ‘So Long, and Thanks for All The Fish’, just to be safe.
 
My reading repertoire was drastically changed from then on in for which I am eternally grateful.
 
And so, on this Towel Day 25 May 2013, I salute you Mr Adams. Thank you for Vogon poetry, the Babel fish, towels and the meaning of life (or should I say Liff? )
 
So go get your towels ready. I have mine. And if you’ve forgotten, you still have four days to go, so DON’T PANIC!


 
21/5/2013 06:12:35 am

Hitchhiker is one of my very favourite books too. A classic in many ways :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    "And above all watch with glittering eyes the world around you, because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don't believe in magic will never find it." - Roald Dahl

    Author

    Author of various genres, focusing on fiction/fantasy/adventure for the older teen / YA /NA

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    July 2013
    May 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner